Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Genre: Young Adult; Fantasy; Romance

Rating: 5 stars

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Review:

Sarah J. Maas has done it again. I don’t know how she has managed to break my heart with every book that she writes.
The plot was flawless. It was a retelling in the way that The Lunar Chronicles (by Marissa Meyer) is a retelling; key points of the original story are there, but everything else has been created by the author. The parts of The Beauty and the Beast that were used were twisted and hardly recognizable, made to fit into a completely new setting and storyline- again, much like that of The Lunar Chronicles.
The book was slow-moving and filled with tension, every word building for the grand finale. The pace is understandable because a) it is the first novel in a fantasy series, which requires a lot of world and character and plot building, and b) the original story (or at least, the Disney movie) is also slow and uneventful. Fortunately, Maas added much more action than the movie had, but again it is concentrated towards the end, when the whole story pretty much blows up in your face. It was great.
The characters in this novel were just like those in Maas’ Throne of Glass series- well developed, full of secrets, and extremely difficult to resist loving (as a reader). Feyre (FAY-ruh) is smart and full of life. Reading the whole book from her first person perspective was an unexpected treat. She sees the world in bright colors and sharp angles and light, in a way that is a little (but not very) reminicent of Jude and Noah of I’ll Give You the Sun (by Jandy Nelson). I wish Maas had gone into the painting a little more, but maybe it will come up in a later novel. Feyre brings heart to this book, and it was wonderful to read. She grows a lot in the course of the novel, of course finding love and losing it, questioning herself, and more importantly, where she fits into the grand scheme of life. As for Tamlin, the love interest, I fell for him hook, line, and sinker. I don’t want to say too much about him because most of his character development is towards the end. I will say that he is gorgeous, even with a mask plastered on his face.
When all is said and done, I cannot say that I prefer this series over Throne of Glass (although the latter has an unfair advantage of having 4 books out). Still, it is easily one of my favorite books this year and I highly recommend it to any fantasy lovers out there. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s